Remembering The Lady In Red

grandmaThis weekend we celebrated the life of one of the most amazing, caring, smart, independent, thoughtful, funny, hard working women I know….my grandma. Although this weekend was emotional to say the least, it was so wonderful to get together with our family and friends and share our most cherished memories of this incredible human being. Her favorite color was red and if you knew her, you could definitely tell from the lipstick on her lips, the nail polish on her hands and toes, and the car she drove, not to mention most of her appliances and her favorite outfits were all red. In honor of her most beloved color, everyone wore red to the festivity. It was so beautiful to hear the sweet words of just a few of the lives of people that she had touched. She had taught me so much in life and even in the afterlife she still has managed to teach me, as this weekend I learned how short life is and how important it is to be a friend and to be kind and to love with all you have, to leave memories with people that they will want to talk about forever, and just how important family is. There was nothing my grandma loved more than her family. All the vacation time she ever had was spent with her family because that was what made her the happiest.

My grandma is a huge influence in me wanting to be a baker. The kitchen was where she flourished. She loved to cook and loved to bake and she passed that down through the generations that followed her. She is most famous for her apple cake, which she promised was going to make me famous one day. This cake has been present in nearly every family get together; in pastry school I used this recipe as the dessert in our restaurant for a week. I haven’t willed myself to make an apple cake since her passing, but when I do I know my grandma will be watching to make sure I don’t mess it up. I want to share this precious recipe with all of you. This cake is quite time consuming so make sure you allow enough time to make it properly.

Enjoy

Ingredients:

2 cups Sugar

1 ¼ sticks Butter, softened

1 tsp. Cinnamon

1 tsp. Nutmeg

2 tsp. Baking soda

¾ tsp. Salt

2 cups cup4cup gluten free flour

¼ cup Walnuts, chopped and toasted

4 Granny smith apples

Procedure:

  1. Prep Bundt cake pans with flour and butter
  2. Toast walnuts and chop
  3. Sift dry ingredients
  4. Mix sugar and butter
  5. Add eggs and spices
  6. Add flour, batter must be really stiff
  7. Fold in cut apples and walnuts
  8. Bake 350F for 30 min.

grandma post

 

One thought on “Remembering The Lady In Red

Leave a Reply

