Super Bowl Celebrating

super bowl 50

Happy Super bowl Sunday everyone! Who is your team this year that you are hoping to win? My family is hoping that the broncos take the victory. We of course are 49er faithful but my husband went to college in Colorado and we think it would be pretty awesome to see Peyton Manning end his career with a win. Every super bowl for the last 4 or 5 years we have competed with our friends in an annual chili cook off. For the past two years we have come in second place and have never taken the win. This year I think I found the recipe that is going to declare us the victors (fingers crossed). I also made my infamous football chocolate covered strawberries to pass around, they are so cute and easy and always a big hit. On top of watching football and judging chili, our amazing hosts find ways to give back. One of my dearest friends works for the girl scouts organization and the money that we bet on for squares and pledges goes to this amazing philanthropy. What kinds of things does your family do on super bowl Sunday? What are the parties like that you attend? Maybe you can find a way to incorporate some of the party traditions that I ‘ve mentioned into your next Super Bowl celebration.

chocolate strawberriesFor my football chocolate strawberries, I washed all the strawberries and patted them dry with a paper towel. I lined a baking sheet with parchment and melted a bag of Wilton’s dipping chocolate into a bowl. I dipped the strawberries and scraped the bottoms on the lip of the bowl and set onto parchment baking sheet. After dipping all the strawberries I melted 1/2 a bag of Wilton’s white chocolate and filled a parchment bag full and cut a small hole at the tip of the bag and started drawing the lines on the strawberries to make it look like the laces of a football. If you get chocolate feet on your strawberries after they dry, use a warm pairing knife to cut the feet off. Enjoy and go Broncos!

 

Photo credit

Leave a Reply

