Girl’s Best Friend

I want to take a moment to acknowledge man’s best friend or in my case girl’s best friend. I love my fur babies, that’s what I like to call them. I have a feisty 3 year old Pomeranian and a rescue who is the newest addition to our family, he is a mix of Labrador Retriever and Chow Chow and we believe he is roughly 4 years old. They both have their little flaws that tend to drive me crazy but my love for them is unconditional regardless and I wouldn’t ever trade them for anything in the world.

dogsWhen my husband and I got married I actually had our little Pomeranian walk down the isle as one of my bridesmaids. People commented how funny it was and a few thought I was a bit crazy but truth be told, that little dog is more apart of my life than a majority of people I would have chosen to put in her place. She has been there through all the good and the bad the last 3 years and has truly been by my side, more than we can say about people we sometimes call “friends.”

My dogs are always the first before my husband to give me a welcome home hello and would do everything in their power to protect me from danger. Our rescue currently had surgery this last week and I felt I needed to heal him back to good health just as I would for anybody else in this world that I loved. To help him feel better I found this great recipe for pupcakes from Run DMT that I chose to make him. He absolutely love them and showed his appreciation with a big sloppy kiss.

Take some time to do something special for your pet this week. Take them to their favorite dog park, buy them a new toy, or make them some pupcakes! Show them how much you appreciate the love they give you everyday. Let me know about your favorite pets and the actions that you took this week to show them you loved them. Unfortunately most pets don’t outlive their owners, we need to cherish their time on this planet.

Peanut Butter Pupcakes

Ingredients

1 cup white or whole wheat flour (I used white wheat flour.)

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup peanut butter

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 cup shredded carrots

1 tsp vanilla

1/3 cup honey

1 egg

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Prepare a muffin pan with paper muffin liners.

In one bowl, whisk together flour and baking soda.   Then, in another larger bowl, add the remaining wet ingredients and mix well. Slowly add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients and mix well to combine.

Spoon batter into prepared muffin tin.  Fill each cup about ¾ full. Bake for 25-30 minutes.  Cool on rack.

Once completely cool, decorate the pupcakes with dog-safe peanut butter icing (recipe follows below) and top each with a Milk Bone or dog-safe treat, like jerky.

Peanut Butter Icing 

Ingredients

4 oz low-fat cream cheese

2 oz all natural creamy peanut butter

1 Tbsp canola oil

 

Directions

Combine all ingredients with a hand-held mixer until well blended.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

