Throwback Thursday: Cow Theme Cake

It’s Thursday and that means we are going to throw it back to a previous cake that I have made in the past.

cow themed cake

This was a cake I had made back in March for a little boy’s western themed birthday party. A dog store that I have made a great rapport with had recommended me to one of their customers. I’m always nervous when it comes to making baked goods for people I don’t know. I tend to be a people pleaser and would have a hard time accepting the fact they don’t like what I have spend countless hours of time creating for them and am proud of. Thankfully this family loved the cake I had made for them and promised to recommend me and use me in the future.

The cake was a basic chocolate cake with Wilton butter cream frosting. I was unsure when making the cake whether to cover it in fondant or to cover it with butter cream, I found the butter cream made it look more rustic. I used Wilton chocolate fondant for the cow spots and rope. To create the shinny look I used water with a paintbrush, this makes it look wet when it dries. I really enjoyed making this cake and I hope you all enjoy it also. Please let me know your thoughts or if you have any questions on how I did something!

Leave a Reply

