Sweet as a Peach

My husband and I are expecting our first baby! Yay! In the beginning when we had told our friends, one of my nearest and dearest girlfriends had suggested I download an app called Cute Fruit. It lets you know the size of your baby in comparison to fruit each week. Last week, our baby was the size of a peach. I had informed my friend of the size that week and received a surprise delivery from her husband later that day with an adorable baby basket full of fresh farmers market peaches. It was such a thoughtful idea. I am not the fondest of eating peaches, I do love them in my desserts though. I had decided right then that the best way to use these juicy peaches was to bake a yummy gluten free peach cobbler, perfect for summertime. I found a recipe online from Gluten Away that was simple, easy, and delicious. The recipe and directions are as follows:

Ingredients:
5 large peaches – peeled, pitted and thinly sliced
1 cup gluten-free flour (I used Bob’s Red Mills AP Flour)
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 cup cold butter (I used Earth Balance)
I really recommend this with some vanilla ice cream as well!

Directions:
Heat oven to 375 F and grease 9″ square pan.
Place peaches in bottom of baking dish.
Combine flour, sugar, cinnamon and salt in separate bowl.
Add cold butter to the flour mixture and mix with a pastry blender or fork until mixture resembles crumbs.
Pour crumb mixture over peaches.
Bake for 45 minutes until top is bubbly and crisp!

Here is a picture of my final product and the adorable basket full of peaches delivered from our special friends.

peaches

peaches 2

I would love to know your thoughts on this recipe and if you found it as yummy as I had. Don’t forget to top it with your favorite vanilla ice cream. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

